Something I learned while sketching in Florida

2015-06-27 10.58.57

Folks, I have been wanting to type this since I came back from Florida. The more I paint and sketch, the more I want to get out and do it and I usually lug around this large carry all black bag with all sorts of supplies that I usually wind up never using. Many of you have seen the bag and have seen me shlepp tons of stuff to sketch. I look like a bag lady. I was even shlepping this bag through NYC while sketching with the Urban Sketchers. GAWD!

When I was in Florida and traveling with my family, I learned some very important things about traveling light, especially with an impatient 20 year old who would roll her eyes when she saw the heavy black bag. The bag would slow us down, and I had to decide what was the barest of essentials that I could carry with me. So I grabbed the most important items. A Sketchbook, fountain pen, water brush and my pocket palette.

This kit can go ANYWHERE. It can boldly go where pastels, acrylics and oils cannot (try shlepping your pastels around Universal Studios, if you can get them past the gate, and why bother, anyway? This is less messy and you can eat your lunch and use this kit…)….this is a “no excuses” travel kit.

Many urban sketchers will see this kit and nod their heads sagely, they know all about traveling light. It’s about always being ready to whip out that pen and record your surroundings. These items can be stowed it in your handbag or fanny pack and they are light. You can go lighter if you make your own sketchbook, but this the perfect setup. The only other item I carry with me that I have added since is a white gel pen.

You saw the photos of my sketches done at Universal Studios. I did them while my husband and daughter went on the crazy roller coasters. Yes, I also went on some of the rides and I did lots of activities and still managed to sketch. The kit fit nicely in the lockers when we had to stow away our loose items.

So if you have been wanting to sketch and not sure what to bring, try going small with a pen and your sketchbook, then go from there.

Leave a Reply

