Inktober Day 29

There is a cemetery near my house that has been around since the 1800’s.  I am always surprised how the headstones are in such great shape.  It’s bordered by the Patchogue lake so it’s a nice wild life spot as well.   I had two goals, an Inktober sketch and a small painting in my sketchbook.  I have been trying to get away from the herd mentality of the typical plein air subject matter.  However, this tree with the back lit leaves might be an interesting background for another painting down the line so I sketched it first with the sun at my back.  Then I thought that Joseph Zbukvic would say to tackle the subject looking into the sun, so I moved to the other side of tree and tackled it with the leaves back lit by the sun. I used gouache painted over Golden’s Liquid Quin Gold.  Then I scratched in some details with colored pencil.  I am not a purist, I’ll use whatever media it takes to get the job done. 

 

Leave a Reply

