Today’s sketch

# 39 was a field trip because it was so nice out.

It was such a beautiful day today that I had to get out to sketch. It was chilly down by the water and being the wimp that I am, I did this sketch from the car…..this study was sketched using gouache in a 5 x 8 1/4 Moleskine watercolor sketchbook. I painted this with Pentel waterbrushes which made it challenging. I wanted to do all the signs in a row but I only had about an hour to do this so I did a study of just this sign.

As an experiment, I used a purple underpainting…..that made it even more challenging….

Can you guess where I was today?

Leave a Reply

